How to Erase and Factory Reset your Mac!

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

You may want to factory reset your Mac computer for a variety of reasons. You may wish to sell, trade, recycle or give it away, but you do not want your personal information to fall into the wrong hands. Perhaps your Mac has been slow lately, and you’d like to get it up and running again. Here’s how to restore factory reset on your Mac in two ways, as well as what you should do before resting your Mac.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

What to Do Before You Reset Your Mac

You should back up all of your important files before resetting your Mac. Then log out of iCloud, Messages, and FaceTime, as well as deauthorize iTunes and Music. It’s also a good idea to clear your P-RAM (or NVRAM) and disconnect your Bluetooth devices.

How to Use Recovery Mode to Factory Reset Macbook

To reset your Mac, restart your computer. Then hold down Command + R until the Apple logo appears. Next, go to Disk Utility > View > View all devices, and select top drive. Then, click Erase, put in the appropriate information, and click Erase again. Finally, close Disk Utility and reinstall Mac OS X.

1. Restart your Mac. You may do this by selecting Restart from the Apple icon in the top-left corner of your screen. If you’re going to restart a MacBook, make sure it’s linked to a stable power source. To avoid accidentally wiping an external hard disk, unplug all of your devices except your mouse and keyboard.

2. Then press and hold the Command + R keys until you see the Apple logo appear.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook
How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

When the Apple logo appears on your screen, you can release the keys. You’ll be in recovery mode when the progress bar under the Apple logo is completed. You’ll then wipe your hard drive and reinstall the macOS that came with your computer when you got it.

3. Next, select Disk Utility.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook
How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

4. Then click Continue.

5. Click View in the Disk Utility window.

How to Erase and Factory Reset your Mac!
How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

6. Then click Show All Devices. The View button is located in the top-left corner of the window. A drop-down menu will appear after you click it.

7. Select the drive you want to wipe. Most of the time, you’ll want to remove the entire disk, which is the top option on the internal list. This will ensure that all of your old data is wiped, allowing you to install the Mac operating system (macOS) on a fresh hard drive.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook
How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

8. Then press Erase. This is the button found at the top of the Disk Utility window.

How to Erase and Factory Reset your Mac!
How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

9. Next, give your Mac a name and choose your format and scheme.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook
  • Name: You can give your drive any name you choose, but it is recommended that you avoid using any personal information because other users on the same network may be able to view the name of your drive.
  • Format: You can choose either APFS (Apple File System) or macOS Extended (Journaled). By default, the Disk Utility will display the compatible format. However, if you wish to double-check the volume’s current format, go to the bottom of the internal tree and select the lowest option (usually called Mac HD). You should see “Type” on the right. You should not reformat the built-in disk as journaled if it was formatted using APFS. The majority of older computers will be journaled, whereas the majority of modern laptops with solid-state drives (SSDs) will be APFS-formatted.
  • Scheme: Select the GUID Partition Map if prompted.

10. Then press Erase. This is visible in the pop-up window’s bottom-right corner. Instead, select Erase Volume Group if it appears. This is not the same as the Delete Volume Group option, which you should not click.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

11. Click Done when the disk has been erased. This should take no more than a few minutes.

12. After that, click Disk Utility.

13. Next, click Quit Disk Utility. The Disk Utility can also be closed by clicking the red button at the top corner of the window.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

14. Then click “Reinstall macOS” and click “Continue.”

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

15. After that, click Continue.

16. Then click the “Agree” button.

17. Next, click “Agree” once again.

18. Then, choose your boot disk. Make sure you don’t choose an external hard drive as your boot disk because it will be your main drive.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

19. Then, click Continue.

20. Wait for the installation to finish. Depending on the speed of your computer and the speed of your internet connection, this could take several minutes to finish.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

Your Mac will restart after the countdown is finished, and a new installation procedure with a countdown timer will begin. This installation will take a few minutes as well.

21. Once the installation is complete, simultaneously hit the Command + Q buttons on your keyboard. When you see the screen that says “Select Your Country or Region,” you know the installation is complete. At this point, you can shut down your Mac computer so that the next user can finish the setup procedure on their own.

How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook
How to Erase and Factory Reset MacBook

22. Lastly, press the Shut Down button.

You can disconnect the PC or close the laptop after you’re finished. When you hand over your Mac to someone else, they will be able to begin the setup process and add their own information and settings.

Related Articles

 

 

Author: entplusgh.com
Entplusgh provides you with tech-related articles like how-to guides, gaming tips, apps, and more. Subscribe to our newsletter for more tech-related articles.   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *